I successfully made my own Febreze!

It’s been several months since I actually bought any Febreze even though I LOVE the product.  No, I LUUURVE Febreze.  I believe it must be heaven’s tap water in a spray bottle.  It’s just that it’s so unreasonably expensive and I get so excited about my couch smelling great that I blow through an entire bottle way too soon.

I’m completely addicted to Pinterest (for real, I can’t believe some of the things people can make/do/sew/paste together/etc.  If there’s anyone out there that can make beautiful Picasso-esque paintings with leftover lipstick stumps and Q-tips, I guarantee you it’s already on Pinterest).  My point is, I’ve discovered some really cool things there, including a recipe for homemade Febreze.  Or, Fauxbreze.  Ha, get it?  I’d like to think that I coined that term myself…let me have my moment, please.

As you can see in the photo, I’ve used quite a bit already.  Please ignore my crappy hand drawn block letters.  I originally wanted to make a cute little label on the computer to print out and attach to the bottle.  Of course, after I spent a lot of time getting it to look the way I wanted, my trusty printer that I’ve had for 3 years decided it wanted to ruin my life and stop working.  So with it on the fritz, I resorted to good old fashioned pencil and paper.  Then I realized I made it way too big for the bottle.  I gave up completely and decided to just crudely hold it in front of the camera lens.

Anyway, I discovered the recipe over on Fake-it-Frugal, and you only need 4 ingredients to make your own:

  • Spray bottle (you could use an actual empty Febreze bottle if you have one, but I didn’t so I bought an ironing spray bottle from Wal-Mart for 97¢.
  • 1/4 Cup fabric softener (whatever kind you prefer. I actually bought Great Value brand from Wal-Mart and I really like the scent.  Much cheaper than the name brands too). The original recipe called for 1/8 Cup fabric softener, but I chose to add more because the scent wasn’t strong enough to my liking with 1/8 Cup.
  • 1 OR 2 Tbsp. baking soda (I only used 1 tbsp. because my bottle is tiny).
  • Hot tap water to fill up the bottle the rest of the way.

Mix it all together in your bottle and give it a good shake.  Spray on every porous object in your home.  Be delighted.

In all honesty, I can say that this is a complete success.  I’ve been using it for 3 days now and it works every bit as well as the real stuff.  Febreze (as with most other commercial cleaning products) contains a TON of ingredients, so I know you’re thinking how can this homemade concoction mimic it so well?  In my opinion, it’s because it contains the most effective simple ingredients to achieve the same results.  Fabric softener for the nice scent, baking soda to absorb odors, and water to make it all blend and play well together.  Easy peasy.

Also, there’s the awesome money savings to consider!  A bottle of Febreze was nearly $5 the last time I bought it, and I could use it all up in 2 or 3 weeks.  This fauxbreze (teehee, there’s that word again!) is…well, it’s a lot cheaper.  I don’t have my exact figures in front of me.  But after making a completely accurate cost analysis of both products, I can infer that making your own Febreze will save you 75 kazillion dollars per year.

GO MAKE SOME.

 

This entry was posted in DIY.

6 comments on “I successfully made my own Febreze!

  1. Jordi says:

    This is awesome! And I have actually heard of this before, minus baking soda. I’m doing this when I get home. 🙂

  2. Caity says:

    Oh my gosh this is AMAZING. I seriously think that I need to have a pinterest account RIGHT NOW. I’ve been putting it off but now I’m sold. Also, I think I am going to have to make this, too. You are awesome and I love you so much right now. Did I mention already how much I’m happy you’re blogging again? 🙂

    • I’m glad you’ve decided to join! Pinterest is awesome, but I blame it for why I get easily distracted during the day. I always say to myself that I’m gonna click ‘show more pins’ only one more time…ok, one more time…alright seriously, this last time. Then, 3 hours later I’m finally dragged away when my family starts demanding food and attention. 😉

      Honestly I’m glad to be blogging again! I just got burnt out before. I got tired of paying for hosting, especially when I started cutting corners to save money and build a budget. So I just stopped. But I missed it. And at least this is free! 😀

      I missed you, friend! xo

  3. AmandaAmanda says:

    I got tired of paying that much per bottle of febreeze as well. I looked up something online. I don’t remember. but it’s basically scented oil (like the stuff at bath and body works) and water. I guess it’s not really febreeze so much as it is a scented refresher… but it works. Plus, a bottle of scented oil is $5 and it lasts 230948209348 years since it’s so concentrated. But now I want to go make what you just posted with the Gain Simple Pleasures fabric softener because it smelllllls sooooo goooooood.

    Sidenote: I love your blog. I love that you can post a complete thought, be witty, and not sound like a fool. That’s a compliment, by the way 🙂

    • I’ve never used Gain Simple Pleasures, but I do love the original Gain detergent. I’ll have to give it a try next time now that I know homemade Febreze is worth making. 😀

      Also, thanks so much! There aren’t many instances in my life where I’m accused of NOT sounding like a fool, so I will definitely take the compliment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

