Some of my favorite things – part 1

I have a knack for being a Negative Nancy more often than I probably should.  It’s nice to stop for a beat and be reminded of some of the things that make life a little brighter no matter what kind of situation you’re facing.  Here are some of my favorite things.

  • Those times when you wake up and panic for a split second thinking you missed your alarm.  Then realizing you have another whole hour before it goes off.
  • Waking up in the middle of the night and hearing thunder softly off in the distance.
  • Clothes fresh out of the dryer on a cold morning.
  • Hot coffee and a good book.
  • The feeling you get after finishing something you’ve been putting off forever.
  • Making a meal that, for once, everyone in the family will eat, enjoy, and not complain about.
  • Surprise love notes from your other half when you least expect it.
  • Those days when your hair does exactly what you wanted it to do. (I don’t have these nearly enough!)
  • Family breakfast on Sunday morning.
  • The day after daylight savings time ends. Because of the ‘gained’ hour, I feel extra productive.
  • Huge fluffy slippers to wear around the house.  Or the grocery store.  Whatever.
  • A pretty new skein of yarn to add to the mountain of them I already have.
  • Re-watching a favorite childhood movie and remembering nearly every word.
  • A fully stocked pantry.
  • Finding that birthday/Christmas/graduation money you thought you spent but really stashed away in a drawer.

What are some of your favorite things?  If you decide to post a list on your own blog, leave the link in the comments so I can take a look!

4 comments on “Some of my favorite things – part 1

  1. Juanita says:

    Definitely love those elusive perfect hair days. Fabulous list!

  2. Carolynne says:

    I love all of your favourite things, especially #1 🙂 I might just post one of these on my blogs. We’ll see 🙂

  3. Kat says:

    Hey Kristie!! I’m so excited to see that you’re back! 🙂
    And I love your list – it made me all happy and smiley.

  4. I did the first one yesterday morning. Yay for extra hours of sleep!

Leave a Reply

