Where I was a year ago

I used to have a pro Flickr account.  I remembered it earlier for absolutely no reason except for the fact that December is coming up and it was last December when my account renewal came due and I didn’t want to pay it again.  I’m cheap.  And lazy.

The last time I uploaded photos to it was November 2010, when I crocheted a hat.

Since then, I’ve lost 50 pounds, give or take a few.  I didn’t realize how noticeable it was until I started comparing pictures of then and now.

Like this one, taken around Halloween of this year.

Wow, holy close up shot, Batman.  You can practically see my hair follicles from here.

ANYWAY

My weight loss is something I don’t really talk about with people IRL, because, well, you can’t really go around saying you’ve lost X amount of pounds without sounding like a pompous ass.  Like you think you’re all special now or something.  Which I certainly don’t think of myself that way, so I rarely mention it.  But there’s never a shortage of people that want to bring it up to ME.  There are a lot of things I’ve learned from the experience, one of which being that when you make changes in your life, like losing a lot of weight, people (family/friends/neighbors/coworkers) really start paying attention to you.  Like really hard sometimes.  They want to know about your routine, what you’re doing differently, what you eat or don’t eat, etc.  Some ask because they genuinely want to know.  Others do it because they like to scrutinize your choices and make you feel inferior for them.  I wasn’t prepared for it at first, but over time I’ve come to expect it and have found myself in the same situations over and over.  Here are a few examples.

The Skeptic

Person A: You’ve lost so much weight, how did you do it?

Me: I work out and watch what I eat.

Person A: *blink blink* *surprise face*

Me: …That’s it.  Really.

Person A: *Skeptical face*

Me: *Annoyed face*

I’ve found that a lot of people don’t fully believe me when I answer them this way.  I can tell what they REALLY wanted me to tell them is that I take some kind of pill or potion, or visited some witch doctor on the bad part of town who did some skinny hocus pocus on me.  Any of those things would apparently make more sense.  It’s annoying, but I’ve come to accept it.  Some people will believe anything other than the fact that you achieved something on your own merits.

The Diet Analyzer

Person B:  You must really miss eating now, huh? HUH? *elbow jab, jab, JAB*

Me: No…actually I still eat quite normally…

Person B: LOL yeah ok, I know you really sit around gnawing on lettuce leaves just wishing you could eat what I eat! HAHA YOU MUST HATE UR LIFE NOW.

Me: …You’re absolutely right.  I really do hate shopping for normal sized clothes again.  And my knee pain? Gone. WHAT A DRAG.

The Been-There-Done-That-And-Failed Guy

Person C: Oh you’ve lost weight. Good for you.  I lost a lot of weight too once but I gained it all back.  You probably will too.

Me: Hmm I probably won’t, actually.  See now I know what to do if I ever DO start gaining a lot of weight back and…

Person C: Nope, no you’re totally going to fail.  It’s cute that you’re trying but I couldn’t do it, so I’m gonna say anything to make you think you can never do it either because I’m insecure and I want you to be in this failboat with me.

Me: *sigh*

So yeah, some people can be total A-holes about it and it can be hard to ignore all the negativity sometimes.  But the experience as a whole as been a positive one for me.

Oh, but there is ONE thing that I miss about being overweight.

Boobs.

That’s right, the ugly truth is that they’re usually the first things to go.  Mine packed their shit and left a long time ago.  OH WELL.  I can’t be an anorexic lettuce cruncher AND have a nice rack, can I?

Remind me to ask the witch doctor about that the next time I go to get my spell reupped.

 

3 comments on “Where I was a year ago

  1. Courtney says:

    Oh man, I am trying to lose some pounds and I am already mourning the inevitable loss of my boobs 😦 hahaha. I lost a bunch of weight once when i first moved to college and then everyone just thought inwas anorexic. Silly how people make you feel guilty for improving your lifestyle.

    We are headed to Hornbeak for thanksgiving!

  2. Dez says:

    First, congratulations on your weight loss. It is NOT easy, especially if you do it the hard way with diet/lifestyle change and exercise. People ask me a lot about how I lost my own weight and I respond the same. “Just diet and exercise.” they never believe me. It must be harder than that. There is just no way that actually monitoring what you’re eating and getting off your butt every once in a while could cause weight loss. NO WAY!

  3. Caity says:

    I’m totally there with you. People just don’t get it.
    I miss my boobs too.

    I always tell people the same thing about the diet and exercise and I sometimes tell them about MFP if they are seeming receptive but usually they aren’t so I just keep it as my secret because screw them they can’t have it!

Leave a Reply

