Sauce packets

I am just one of the many people in this world who holds on to things with the intent of actually finding them useful in the near future. Waste not, want not as the saying goes.  I particularly like collecting sauce packets from restaurants.

I always pick up the pile and try to put them back where they belong.  Then I try again when they fall. And again. And again.

Until finally…

And then the cycle starts again soon afterward.  I never learn.

 

 

9 comments on “Sauce packets

  1. Kylie says:

    I think everyone does that. At one point I had almost as much in ketchup packets as I did in my condiment bottle that I actually purchased.

    It doesn’t help that fast food people cram those little packets in there like they’re going to be used as currency when the world market collapses…

  2. Faith says:

    I used to always do this! I’ve pretyt much stopped, but obviously the urge is still there, because when I started reading this post, I instantly started trying to think of some creative use for them for you.

  3. Dez says:

    It is great to see that I am not the only one that collects little packets. I had a really hard time throwing away the extra three fire sauce packets from Taco Bell. 😦

  4. Caity says:

    Hahaha this is hilarious! My parents do this too. I have started just asking for no sauce and using the ketchup or sauce that I have at home so that this doesn’t happen. I generally just eat my takeout at home anyway.

  5. Carla says:

    That was awesome!! Hahahaha. I think right now we have Sweet & Sour and Hot Mustard sauces from McDonalds…and probably ketchup packets. (the dipping sauces are the only things that will actually get used). I think the thing I always had in the fridge was soya sauce and sweet and sour sauce from chinese food places. There shouldn’t be little hidden compartments on the fridge door!

    • I know! The hidden compartments are traps – it’s the only logical place in the fridge to store these things. Yet they provide no barrier! Also, I think I had a little of ALL of the sauces you mentioned…that is, before my rampage at least. 😉

  6. this cracked me up, oh my god. i used to do the same thing at my parents house. we had a little stash of Arby’s sauce (which I legit used on EVERYTHING.) but the taco bell sauce packets would just sit there and sit there and sit there for days, weeks, months, and even years. what is even the shelf life of a little packet of hot sauce? i have no idea.

    • Haha, I have no idea either. I’ve been known to keep sauce packets for SO LONG that the packaging on the new condiments (from the same restaurant) have changed, lol. I know. I figure once it gets to that point, it’s probably not safe to consume anymore. 😉

  7. Jordi says:

    This post awesome, and SO true. I love the illustrations! Made me lol!

Leave a Reply

